Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Softball Announces Challenging 2019 Campaign

Softball Announces Challenging 2019 Campaign

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Converse College softball team and head coach Jennifer George has announced a rigorous 2019 schedule that includes five contests each against members of the Peach Belt and South Atlantic Conferences, as well as a 20-game Conference Carolinas slate.

The Valkyries will kick-off the season on Sunday, February 3 with a trip to Francis Marion to take on the Patriots of the PBC. The next four series for Converse will be against schools from the SAC. Up first is a trip to Carson-Newman on February 9 followed by a doubleheader at Tusculum on Sunday, February 10.

Converse will open its home portion of the schedule on Tuesday, February 12, playing host to Mars Hill University before returning to the road to face the Trojans of Anderson University on Saturday, February 16.

St. Andrews of the NAIA will visit Tyger River Park on Sunday, February 17 for a twin-billing. The Vals will then head to the Sunshine State and Melbourne, Fla. to take part in the Space Coast Tournament on Sunday, February 24. Georgia College is first on the docket followed by Flagler to complete the two-team, one day event.

On Monday, February 25 Converse will host Montreat College before welcoming USC Aiken on Thursday, February 28. That short home stand will give way to a season-long five-series road trip for the Purple and Gold, starting with Claflin University on Saturday, March 2. The Valkyries will make the quick turnaround as they face Wingate University on Sunday, March 3.

Conference Carolinas action will start on Wednesday, March 6 as Converse plays at Belmont Abbey before dates with Johnson C. Smith (3/9) and Augusta (3/10) round out the road trip.

The next three series will be within the friendly confines of The Stadium at Tyger River Park, beginning with conference foe Barton on Saturday, March 16. Mount Olive and Emmanuel will also visit Duncan, S.C. for a pair of games on March 16-17, respectively.

Converse will step away from Conference Carolinas action on Wednesday, March 27 as it travels to play Division III Brevard College. The month of April will open up with road contests at North Greenville (4/2), Lees-McRae (4/3), and Southern Wesleyan (4/5). On Thursday, April 11 the Valkyries will play host to Erskine before heading to nearby Gaffney, S.C. to take on the Saints of Limestone College on Saturday, April 13.

The Valkyries will wrap-up the regular season with a doubleheader at home against King University on Wednesday, April 17.