Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Weisiger Cup/Scholars

The Weisiger Outstanding Scholar-Athlete Scholarship and The Weisiger Cup bring together Converse College’s priorities of academic excellence, student leadership and service, and competitive intercollegiate athletics in recognizing outstanding student-athletes. The two awards were created through a generous endowment established by Mr. and Mrs. Edward I. Weisiger (Agnes Binder Class of 1963). 

The Weisiger Outstanding Scholar-Athlete award provides scholarships for outstanding students majoring in the sciences. Recipients must excel in academics, be expressly interested in the study of science, and be dedicated to playing an NCAA Division II sport. Two new recipients are chosen from the incoming class each year, for a total of up to eight scholarship recipients across the student body annually. 

The Weisiger Cup is presented to a Converse graduating student-athlete each year at Founder's Day. The young woman selected for this honor has a proven record of leadership and community building skills, is a valuable member of the campus community and an asset to her team. The recipient's name is added to a sterling silver Weisiger Cup trophy that is permanently housed in the Weisiger Center, and she receives her own smaller engraved version as a keepsake.

Weisiger Scholar-Athletes 

2008 - Ashton Lesiak - Soccer

2009 - Elizabeth High - Cross Country; Jennifer Russell - Swimming

2010 - Jessica Pope - Swimming, Kandace Griffin - Volleyball

2011 - Nichole Tackett - Soccer; Meghan Calvaruso - Swimming

2012 - Summer Gaib - Cross Country; Maureen Collins - Volleyball

2013 - Rebekah Muir - Golf; Ashley Biggs - Cross Country

2014 - Brittni Jones - Lacrosse; Isabella Cassens - Soccer

2015 - Paige Johnson - Basketball; Claudia Coffin - Soccer

2016 - Taylor Cruse - Basketball; Kaybriana Spalding - Softball

2017 - Lizzie Gilbert - Equestrian; Moriah Gomez - Softball

2018-  Pauline Hagen - Tennis


2018 Weisiger Scholar Athlete: Pauline Hagen

Pauline Hagen, a graduate of Lauenburgische Gelehrtenschule Ratzeburg in Ratzeburg, Germany, is a member of the Converse tennis team. She plans to major in biology.






Weisiger Cup Recipients

2009 - Elizabeth Louise Ruppert - Cross Country

2010 - Rachel Elizabeth Wilker - Tennis

2011 - Katherine Jean Buehler - Volleyball

2012 - Hilary Leith Parkin - Soccer

2013 - Jennifer Leigh Russell - Swimming

2014 - Jessica Renet Pope - Swimming

2015 - Catherine Frances Billings - Equestrian

2016 - Natalie Johnson - Soccer

2017 - Laura Ann Dixon - Swimming

2018- Kaitlin Knight- Tennis


2018 Weisiger Cup Recipient: Kaitlin Knight

Kaitlin has been a member of the tennis team for four years. She ranks first in Converse history with 52 overall victories, 27 doubles wins, and singles wins at the No. 2 position. Knight holds the second-highest win percentage in doubles and was also named Converse College Freshman of the Year during her rookie campaign. Kaitlin is a double-major in Biology and Spanish and boasts a 3.29 GPA. She has been a member of the Converse College Dean's List every semester she has attended as well as being named to the Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll on four different occassions. Knight is a member of the Phi Sigma Lota Honor Society and Beta Beta Beta Biological Society. During her senior year she served as the President of the SAAC (Student Athlete Advisory Committee) and was an Executive Committee Member of the SGA (Student Government Association). In 2015, Kaitlin was selected for the Conference Carolinas Leadership Institute.

During her time with the Purple and Gold she gave back to her community, teaching tennis to underprivileged children during her summer vacations. She worked at a child physical therapy center and assisted with free clinics during a mission trip to Belize in the summer of 2016. Kailtlin plans to attend Furman University to earn her Master's Degree in "Community Engaged Medicine" and then apply to medical school.


About Ed and Agnes Weisiger

Agnes Binder Weisiger, a member of the Converse Class of 1963, has made giving her life-long passion and priority. She dedicating much of her life to nursing, and her philanthropy and leadership have benefited Converse and many other cultural and educational organizations throughout the Southeast. Together with her husband, Ed, the Weisigers have been champions for Converse College/ In addition to supporting the Weisiget Scholar Athletes and Weisiger Cup awards, they were lead donors to The Weisiger Center, which houses Converse athletics.